The Star College Scheme is an initiative by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology, New Delhi to support colleges and universities offering undergraduate education to improve science teaching across the country. This Scheme was launched for improving critical thinking and encouraging ‘hands on’ experimental science at undergraduate level in basic science subjects.
DBT had selected Sacred Heart College, Chalakudy under this scheme in 2018 with sanction order no. BTIHRD/I11019/2018 dated:26.02.2018

Beneficiary departments: Departments of Chemistry, Physics and Zoology

Objectives: The objectives of the DBT Star College scheme are as follows:
• To strengthen the academic and physical infrastructure for achieving excellence in teaching and training
• To enhance the quality of the learning and teaching process to stimulate original thinking through ‘hands–on’       exposure to experimental work and participation in summer schools
• To provide better library facility to students and teachers
• To promote networking and strengthen ties with neighboring institutions and other laboratories
• To conduct specialized training programs for faculty improvement for optimizing technical capabilities
• To increase capabilities of core instrumentation resources by procuring new equipment and upgrading                 existing facilities
• To provide access and exposure to students to research laboratories and industries in the country
• To help in devising standard curricula and Standard Operating Procedures (SOP’s) / kits for practicals.

DBT- Star College Scheme Advisory Committee
Chairman: Dr. (Sr.) Reena Ittyachan, Principal, Sacred Heart College
DBT Representatives: Dr. Arvind Duggal, Adviser, DBT Dr. Garima Gupta, Programme officer, Star College Scheme
External Experts:
1. Dr. M K Jayaraj Professor Department of Physics, Cochin University of Science and Technology, Cochin 22, Kerala
2. Dr. N. K. Sanil Senior Scientist, Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Kochi-682 018, Kerala
Faculty Members:
1. Dr. Tessy K L & Dr. Neetha V (Department of Zoology)
2. Prof. Maria Jose, Dr. Santhosh Paul, Dr. Laina A L & Dr. Anuja E V (Department of Chemistry)
3. Ms. Fency K F & Dr. Salini Jose (Department of Physics)
Coordinator Member-Secretary: Dr. Nijo Varghese, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics




© 2022 Sacred Heart College, Chalakudy. All Rights Reserved
Design by